PDA

View Full Version : Recursive Thinking

nomadguy
15th October 2011, 03:31
There are many reasons permaculture projects fail, one of the main ones I find is the lack of participants or knowledgeable design. Here is a proposed way I think we can "design" a solution from the beginning. I call it recursive thinking.

The designer first gives a task to the eager novice, the novice now looks to the do-er the craftsman to oversee the completion of the task and for guidance. The Craftsman then delivers the task's outcome to the contemplative person. This person provides a wide range of observation and oversight and also guidance. Then the Contemplative person delivers the task outcome back to the designer and the cycle can stop or restart for refinements.

Cheers
C...

Carmen
15th October 2011, 08:31
Nomadguy, what makes you say that permaculture systems fail? Do you have experience of this?

nomadguy
15th October 2011, 18:34
I have a few years hands on experience with my own projects.
And I have been working with others and this has come up many times, a lot of permaculture projects crash especially in the beginning of the movement, a lot of trial and error has been worked out and is continuing to be worked out.
~ More failures will happen and this is a GOOD thing. Failures lead to solutions, ~failures show us things and that may(and often does) include important discoveries.
I read an article not to long ago, (I may go and find that later on) that talked about the top 5 reasons permaculture project fail.
~or as I feel it should be stated "miss target".
I see how terming it this way could be taken in different directions.