PDA

View Full Version : Anyone want to buy an acreage together in the central USA? for when the SHTF

gooty64
16th March 2012, 13:26
This has been on my mind for a year now.

When the $hit hits the fan, shortly thereafter the cities will begin to spill into countryside. imho

It seems wise to me to have a few acres of fertile land for growing food raising chickens etc, right?

Land is inexpensive in the Iowa area of the plains USA. An old farmhouse on several acres can be found in 40-60 range-occasionally and sometimes even less.

An area that is less densely populated and far away from metropolitan are quite affordable.

I am a single guy with a puppy and to move to an acreage alone is a daunting task as I am not experienced at vegetable gardening and am not a skilled handyman.

But, I have a little cash that I would like to invest into a safe place to get away for when the shtf.

Does this make an ounce of sense to any one out there?

gooty, Alan

Sidney
16th March 2012, 14:38
Maybe you can join my midwest ground crew in the groups section. There aren't too many of us, but this subject matter was my reasoning for starting the group. At the very least I would love to plan a midwest usa meet up sometime this summer. Anybody up for that?? I am sorry though, but I really don't have any money to invest at the moment.

GlassSteagallfan
16th March 2012, 17:42

When the $hit hits the fan, shortly thereafter the cities will begin to spill into countryside. imho

It seems wise to me to have a few acres of fertile land for growing food raising chickens etc, right?

Land is inexpensive in the Iowa area of the plains USA. An old farmhouse on several acres can be found in 40-60 range-occasionally and sometimes even less.

An area that is less densely populated and far away from metropolitan are quite affordable.

I am a single guy with a puppy and to move to an acreage alone is a daunting task as I am not experienced at vegetable gardening and am not a skilled handyman.