PDA

View Full Version : Language Spoken by Alara Blackwell

Hermeticus
28th April 2012, 19:00
I've had a deep curiosity in language. After listening to the interview of Alara Blackwell (http://projectavalon.net/forum4/showthread.php?42378-The-Bases-Series-Super-Soldier-Alara-on-Militarized-Remote-Viewing), I took some time to capture the audio of the alien language she spoke and then transliterate it. I'm not a professional linguist by any means and I welcome any constructive criticism.

I am thoroughly convinced that this is in fact a working language. Even an informed skeptic would probably acknowledge it as a 'constructed language.' I think it is a natural language, of course!

Language Spoken by Alara

Transliteration Guide
œ rounded frontal sound, compare to the schewa sound; this sound can actually be accented, similar to French and unlike in English where it is never accented.
þ = English sound 'th', only occurs once in the sample.
‘ = glottal stop; separates two otherwise consecutive vowels
‘sh’ = sh sound as in English (cf. ch, sch, sj)
a, e, i, o, u = these are the standard continental values, similar to Spanish or Italian.
aa, ee, oo = double vowels simply mean that they are long in duration

Remarks
Word divisions are based on pauses.
Long sequences could be several words strung together.
The difference between unaccented, short ‘a’ and ‘œ’ may be perceived. They could be the same sound.

transliterated utterances

itásikarenáat íkau titáaseret {“I am hungry and I would like that food.”}

[Alara and Miles speak.]

áasiattantíranilakeafe’etiasemíataa

ínaan éseshœtaa akíasaíin

ína hataittaiarániat etlaniasiet tírþiartakírnaan

únasaa irta íranialahiatœké ínasaa ifitíataa tia’aka’œnasœt ítad’as íkœntaant (œkintaant?)

ínaan tíra ílan*ma se ífimahaa tœkee (*I couldn’t tell whether this was ilamma or ilanma)

ósoo tooshívaranidikantésialanehefíanaan ítaan dékriœ

ései ináa katríatashee ína’ósuœ’ tiaranala síatœ fíanaan