PDA

View Full Version : A possible solution to Fukushima (if it's possible)

Forevernyt
15th May 2012, 18:32
I keep thinking about magnetism. Electromagnetism. It's what protects the earth from the sun's radiation, it protects us from cosmic rays. Why can't we devise a way to build an electromagnetic shield around the whole of Fukushima?

I'm not a scientist, but perhaps this is possible? They can build a place like CERN, right?

And not to make light of it, but they used the same thing in the Spider-man sequel, when Doc Ock tried to contain the fusion reaction he was building. (course it didn't work then, but that's a movie, right?)

I don't know, it was just a thought.

Kano
15th May 2012, 18:37
This is the exact theory proposed by Clif High et al on his latest Red Ice Creations interview. I am not a paying member of Red Ice but I do believe that the full interview was posted somewhere on PA. Well worth a listen IMHO.

Kano

RMorgan
15th May 2012, 18:57
Hey mate,

This is a big problem and possibly much more complex than that.

If it was that easy to contain toxic radiation with a magnetic field, we wouldnīt need a 1 meter thick concrete wall to protect just a regular x-ray room.

To make such strong and effective magnetic field we certainly would need highly efficient super-conductive materials, which is something we havenīt yet.

Right now, our super-conductive materials require an enormous amount of energy to be cooled down, and thatīs the main problem. Our current super-conductors only work under extremely low temperatures.

In fact, this subject is one of the "holy grail" of science; to find super-conductive materials that work on regular room temperature.

So, for creating such a huge magnetic field, we would need a huge amount of energy, just to cool down the super-conductive materials; something we canīt afford with our current energetic technologies.