PDA

View Full Version : Whats going on with our Sun?

irishspirit
22nd August 2010, 20:29
Hi Folks,

I am no expert when it comes to the inner workings of our Sun. However, there sure does seem to be some strange stuff going on with it.

We have seen a huge amount of CME's going on, along with Solar Flares.

My understanding of these are that if we get hit by the likes of an Solar DFlare, X4 it means big trouble. Like wise, the likes of Y type, is even bigger trouble.

I have seen and heard a lot of chat about this recently, what does this mean for us as a race?

Be easy with me, just learning all this stuff.

Be Safe

irishspirit

Cara
23rd August 2010, 16:07
I think there is definitely something going on with the sun. I've been following a tread in "News and update" in regards with the scientific info. Great stuff. Personally, what really hit me since two or three years ago, is a change in the strength of the sun's light. Have you noticed, that in particularly bright and sunny days, the light seems very different, more white/halogen like? Every single time I stop to notice, it feels awkward, almost surreal.

OnyxKnight
29th April 2011, 09:54
Not only the flares, but the mechanics of it too.

Someone/Something is changing the spectral nature of our sun, making it more hotter, with an end result of turning into an A-class star.

Cara is spot on in noticing the change in brightness and luminosity.

bennycog
29th April 2011, 10:59
Not only the flares, but the mechanics of it too.

Someone/Something is changing the spectral nature of our sun, making it more hotter, with an end result of turning into an A-class star.

hey Onyx, what would be the reason to turning it into an A class star? is it more energy that the vehicles around the sun are needing?

Class

Temperature

Sample star

O

33,000 K or more

Zeta Ophiuchi

B

10,50030,000 K

Rigel

A

7,50010,000 K

Altair

F

6,0007,200 K

Procyon A

G

5,5006,000 K

Sun

K

4,0005,250 K

Epsilon Indi

M

2,6003,850 K