PDA

View Full Version : Violence in Video Games

Whiskey_Mystic
22nd December 2012, 17:47
Hello boys and girls.

I have been seeing a lot of talk in the media about violence in video games being blamed for violence in our society, including mass killings like we saw in CT.

I make video games for a living. I tell stories and create art. I have worked with Audrey Geisel, Stan and Jan Bernstein, Mark Brown, Mercer Mayer, and Janell Canon (just to name a few) to make games for children. I have also made games for adults with themes of love, betrayal, conspiracy, government mind control, ghosts, friendship, sex, war, and death.

I have always fought for proper labeling of video games; a position which was not always popular with my colleagues. Video games are labelled T for Teen or M for Mature so that parents are empowered to keep inappropriate material away from their kids. Unfortunately, it seems that most parents are ignoring this. Parents are choosing to let their kids have these games.

This drives me nuts because we go through great pains to give them that label. We submit our games to the ESRB and make adjustments as needed, just like movie producers have to do. To ignore that and then complain about violent video games is like giving your kids x-rated movies and then complaining that they are inappropriate.

I just saw yet another news story that failed to mention this. Marin county is having a buy back of violent video games to reduce violence. The news story talked about the effects of exposing children to violent games while showing clips from several games that I know are rated M for Mature.

There is always some new boogeyman to blame for corrupting the minds of our youth. It used to be rock and roll. Before that it was comic books. Now it is video games. I think this entire discussion is just plain stupid.