PDA

View Full Version : How do we feel good enough?

Natalia
19th August 2014, 12:36
I'm not an expert on this, up and down with it...and I feel that this is an important question for many people...

Has anyone here really transformed not feeling good enough to feeling good enough at least most of the time?

Why do we sometimes focus too much on that thing in those who don't see us or treat us as good enough, when it causes us pain? I can only see one "good" reason, and that is to help us grow/heal something more...it can be a catalyst...but apart from that, it can be unhealthy and not needed...need to rise above it...

What if we are good enough to a partner or potential partner, but we don't feel like we are?

What if we are good enough for a job, but we don't feel like we are?

What if we are good enough to make music, but don't think that we are?

Etc, etc, etc, this thing can really get in the way...and I don't just want to talk and listen about it, I want to do something practical about it...

(btw, I can accept that I am not good enough in some ways or to some people...but it does not mean that I have to focus on it too much)...

araucaria
19th August 2014, 12:58
Hi Amethyst. 'Good enough' is a static notion, it is a grade on a scale. How about trying a more dynamic notion. I make music, not very well, but with practice I am getting better, or with age I am getting worse, it doesn't matter. Static points like 'good enough' become meaningless - to the stage when 'good enough' for others might actually not be good enough for oneself.

So the practical thing you can do is just do it. Practice in private until someone overhears you and once someone starts listening you find yourself modestly performing in public. 'Good enough' doesn't come into it.

christian
19th August 2014, 13:44
That's interesting, I never really have it like this in my mind, "Am I good enough for this or that?"