+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Immigration .. From an immigration attorney ..

1. Link to Post #1
    Avalon Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,466 times in 762 posts

Default Immigration .. From an immigration attorney ..

I think that this article summarizes the issue very well and is non-political in
    nature.

I'm an immigration lawyer. I know that many of my Facebook friends, who are
    good and intelligent people, honestly have questions like the following: Why
    don't all these immigrants just become legal, and do they get all kinds of
    public benefits?

I hope you'll read what I wrote here in the spirit in which it was intended,
    which is to cut through the BS (from poorly-informed but loud voices on both the
    left and right) and simply provide correct information so that people can decide
    for themselves what is right and best.

I recently wrote the comment below to a Facebook story from a local news
    channel, about a teacher here in Colorado Springs who has DACA.

To several of the commenters on this thread – first, I want to acknowledge that
    asking why people don’t just become citizens, or whether people without legal
    status can get public benefits that U.S citizens cannot, are legitimate
    questions. If they are asked in good faith, no one should mind you asking them.

Therefore, let me answer your questions. Please know that I am well-informed on
    these topics, as an immigration lawyer for the past 8 years, the past six of
    those in Colorado, and currently the Director of Family Immigration Services at
    Catholic Charities of Central Colorado (most of you know us best as the
    organization that runs the Marian House soup kitchen). You may verify those
    statements by entering my bar number (44591) on the Supreme Court of Colorado
    website(http://www.coloradosupremecourt.com/.../AttSearch.asp) or viewing
    our Catholic Charities website (https://www.ccharitiescc.org/).