+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 3 LastLast

Thread: Independent Nurse Practitioner's straight scoop on medicines

1. Link to Post #1
    Thanks

Default Independent Nurse Practitioner's straight scoop on medicines

My life as a pretend doctor. #1

I make no apologies for being involved in psychiatric medicine and diagnosis. I had better qualify that before the hatred comes at me - I understand the hatred.
    I am an independent nurse practitioner non medical prescriber . I worked hard to be an IANP - my speciality is in older persons mental health. This includes the diagnosis and treatment of dementia - the classification of sub types and application of treatment - roughly 70% of my time is in ‘memory related work’.
    First thing to say is that I object that dementia is thrown in with psychiatry - it is not, in my opinion, a mental illness. If ones brain structure changes for organic reasons, you are not technically mentally ill- symptoms may be similar - but not the cause. That aside I understand why this is so. If it were left to many of my colleagues in medicine dementia would be a catch all diagnosis for anything including the non DSM or ICD listed ‘’awkward old bugger’ condition.

The causes of reversible memory loss in aging which could ‘mimic dementia symptoms are many but commonly - B12 deficiency - hyponatremia - thyroid irregularities - infection (very common) and extended exposure to medications with anticholinergic/ antimuscarinic qualities - e.g.Bladder stabilisers, antihistamines and tricyclic antidepressants - amitriptyline is commonly used for neuropathic pain - because it's cheap - but plays havoc with memory.

We also see many older people with ‘brain fog’ caused by treatments such as methotrexate for autoimmune conditions - and the old favourite prolonged analgesia use. ( opioid or synthetic opioid) -

The lack of knowledge some poor folks have of their meds is staggering. The lack of knowledge we have sometime trumps them.