Thread: Foraging and Existing with Nature

1. Link to Post #1
    United States Moderator Karen (Geophyz)'s Avatar
    Language
    English
    Thanks
    Thanked 6,886 times in 612 posts

Default Foraging and Existing with Nature

This is my first attempt at a new thread so bear with me!

As you may or may not know, I live in the woods, pretty far from any significant town. I try to exist in harmony with nature and live off my land! Someone asked me to post how to make acorn cookies so I am going to start there!

Oak trees do not produce acorns every year where I live but this year was a bumper crop so I decided to not let them all go to the deer and other natives! Acorns are rich in Vitamin C and A and a very good source of protein and fibre and carbs. They have a wonderful nutty taste when prepared correctly.

The first think you have to do is find an oak tree dropping acorns and pick a batch. Do NOT pick green ones. They are not mature. Try to get the ones with the caps on, which usually means no insects have gotten into them.

Take them home and give them a rinse in cold water. Pick out any that float, they are bad. After I rinse them good I leave them in the colander and let them dry. Then I pick off the caps.

Acorns have a bitter tannin in them that you must leach off. To do this I put two large pots of water on the stove to boil. Put the acorns in the first pot, boil them until the water looks like tea. Drain and immediately put them in the second pot of boiling water. Do not let them cool. Fill the first pot with fresh water and put on the fire to boil. Continue doing this until the water no longer looks like tea after boiling. This process usually takes about an hour.

Spread the acorns on a cookie sheet to dry in a warm place. Be careful putting them outside...especially if you have wildlife.....I speak from experience. You can also put them in a dehydrator set on low heat.