+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 3 LastLast

Thread: Help Needed: I seek advice from people I highly regard (you)

1. Link to Post #1
    Unsubscribed
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,116 times in 243 posts

Default Help Needed: I seek advice from people I highly regard (you)

Dear All,

I seek words of wisdom from the great people that you all are. I’ll be succinct.

I’m a passionate undergraduate engineering student approaching my senior year at my university. My life goal is to positively influence as many people in the world that I possibly can.

My issue: I want to diverge from the pretty paved road, and take the dive into uncharted waters. I want to study abroad on a program that goes around the world in and gives a taste of several very different countries. But, being a full time student, I would pay for a large chunk of the program with my private student loan - which my parents sign. My parents are so out of touch and live the average American sheep roles. It breaks my heart to see them and my family as a whole so blind and close-minded… I can’t get this part of the puzzle unless I make them see that the co-sign is worth it..

I know this part of my life will be so rewarding and amazing that it will only bring me closer to my goals.

My question: How do I show the people that are closest to me that I must and I will spread my wings and do what I think is best for me, not what anyone else thinks is best for me? Is it possible to do this without totally losing their respect and love?

-Phoenix

EDIT: To clarify, I pay for every cent of my education, loans and all.
    Last edited by Phoenix; 19th July 2011 at 23:21.

2. Link to Post #2
    Thanks
    Thanked 11,419 times in 1,676 posts

Default Re: Help Needed: I seek advice from people I highly regard (you)

Quote Posted by Phoenix (here)
    Dear All,

I seek words of wisdom from the great people that you all are. I’ll be succinct.