+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Portable power generators ~

1. Link to Post #1
    Thanks

Question Portable power generators ~

Oh boy, thought this one would be fairly easy, but I do not have a clue on what type of portable power generator to purchase.

I have googled it to death, and I am more confused now then when I started.

My needs are just for a back up power source, for emergencies, do not require one for health related equipment.

Would like to hear from anyone who is using one that they are quite happy with, or any suggestions would be very welcomed.

I have never used one before, and do not know of any one that has one. So I am a newbie, zippo knowledge. Gas, propane?

Will be buying one in Canada, once I understand what kind I need to go for.

Thanking everyone in advance, as I know you guys will pull through on this one.!
    The states of awareness we currently perceive are only a thiny fraction of the whole.
    The continuum extends deep into nonphysical areas of the universe far beyond our current physical comprehension ~ William Buhlman

2. Link to Post #2
    Thanks

Default Re: Portable power generators ~

Personaly , i would get an older one (without the fancy electronics) . It depends how much you want to spend though and what you want it to do . Ive stayed off grid a few times and its not nice having the generator noise for long periods . Im currently building up a back up system with limited funds . Ive got a good inverter/charger , some solar pannels and some batteries but im saving up for a better battery bank .
    You can use a generator to charge battery banks too so you dont have to have the constant noise
    fork lift batteries are a cheap option if you have the space .
    Hope this helps
    John

3. Link to Post #3
    Thanks

john.d, it certainly does help! You have just answered one of my first questions, less bells, more reliable. Thank you!