+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Advice Sought - Emotional and Legal

1. Link to Post #1
    Thanks
    Thanked 7,739 times in 1,371 posts

Default Advice Sought - Emotional and Legal

I’m not very good at asking for help, nor at standing up for myself, which is why I’m in the situation I’m in now.

To cut a long story short, when I lived in Peru, I found out my girlfriend was pregnant from an encounter she’d had before we met. Instead of ending the relationship, I forgave her and decided to raise the child as my own. The pregnancy was fine, our relationship was great and I felt a real bond with the baby. The night she was in labour, I had a powerful dream in which I met the baby and he told me he was here to teach me unconditional love.

Then when he appeared, I felt absolutely nothing, but I still signed his birth certificate. It hurts me to write this now, remembering my feelings, and lack of them. The following months were like torture – I knew I was being completely unauthentic, yet how to explain the dream ? How to explain the bonding in-utero ? Since this time, I’ve known self-loathing like never before.

Life eventually gave me a kick – I was extremely ill and had to return to the UK to get help. From then I’ve been working in Asia, never feeling right, never really happy, never in touch with my intuition.

If you’ve got this far, thanks. Now to the crux of the matter.