+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Idea for water collection technology / business

1. Link to Post #1
    United States Avalon Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 9,020 times in 927 posts

Default Idea for water collection technology / business

Any engineers or similarly-minded folks in the house?!

I've been rolling an idea around in my head for a couple years about starting a new business. I'll just go ahead and throw it out there because I really don't care if it's ME that does it or someone else. I would pay for this service right now if someone else did it and I bet millions of others would, too. But I'm having a couple snags about how it might work.

So, I collect rain water off a 9'X12' greenhouse, contain it in a 50 gallon food grade plastic barrel right next to the greenhouse and then carry it inside to filter it in a Berkey for all our household water consumption. For 2 years this system has provided all cooking and drinking water for a family of 4 (and water is ALL we drink) and the only time the barrel went dry was when I accidentally left it running one time. So, it's been a wonderful system and could easily be expanded for a drier climate (I don't even keep most of the water that hits the greenhouse).