+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Any Sitar players here?

1. Link to Post #1
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,588 times in 532 posts

Default Any Sitar players here?

I'm about to buy a Sitar and was wondering if there are any players here...
    I am new to this instrument and would love to exchange thoughts!

2. The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Olam For This Post:

Bill Ryan (2nd February 2021), Brigantia (3rd February 2021), ExomatrixTV (2nd February 2021), Franny (5th February 2021), Harmony (9th February 2021), Karen (Geophyz) (2nd February 2021), ljwheat (5th February 2021), mojo (4th February 2021), Open Minded Dude (2nd February 2021), palehorse (3rd February 2021), Tintin (3rd February 2021), ZenBaller (2nd February 2021)

3. Link to Post #2
    Germany Avalon Member Open Minded Dude's Avatar
    Language
    German
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,334 times in 635 posts

Default Re: Any Sitar players here?

Not really. But I love all kinds of "world music" and and kind of folk music and the used traditional instruments.

Nice synchronicity for me: I just listened an hour ago to an old vinyl of mine after 30 years again and the last song of the album was a kind of lullaby for the then newborn son of the singer (in 1984) and there was next to the Banjo a wonderful Sitar in it. It blew me away, my fav of that album for sure.

4. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to Open Minded Dude For This Post:

Bill Ryan (2nd February 2021), Franny (5th February 2021), Harmony (9th February 2021), Karen (Geophyz) (2nd February 2021), mojo (4th February 2021), Olam (2nd February 2021), palehorse (3rd February 2021), Tintin (3rd February 2021)

5. Link to Post #3
    Thanks

I used to numb myself with substances, nowadays, I look for the same effect in a healthy way...lol
    I play many instruments and I can't wait to get into playing this one, for sure I will soar away those covid blues.
    Play a C# drone in the background and play over that..for a long time.