+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Buying Online Pitfalls

1. Link to Post #1
    Thanks
    Thanked 13,330 times in 2,365 posts

Default Buying Online Pitfalls

Buying online
    It seems a new trend among the Incels in Silicon Valley or China is setting up stores that require no human labour, run strictly by Algorithms.
    I had been using a VOIP service called Nettalk for 10 years. The service was cheap and great until I had a problem. I bought an upgraded device which didn't work, and there was no way to contact them. I could have bought the device through Amazon but Nettalk promised to pre-configure it for my account if I bought it directly from them. Fortunatly I had paid with a credit card and was able to file a dispute for the charge (talking to an actual person). Nettalk is trying to operate anonymously; their published phone # on gthe VISA statenent is fake, their company on the VISA statement is fake. Maybe it's part of their no-labour policy -- if you can't contact them, they don't have to help you.

Never buy online without some easy recourse for a refund or ability to talk to an actual person, which means pay with a credit card or using Amazon.

I also think before I buy anything, I will first contact their technical support to see if it's real.
    Last edited by TomKat; 13th December 2021 at 01:13.

2. The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to TomKat For This Post:

Brigantia (7th December 2021), Frankie Pancakes (7th December 2021), Gracy (7th December 2021), haroldsails (13th December 2021), Ioneo (7th December 2021), Mashika (7th December 2021), Mercedes (7th December 2021), mizo (7th December 2021), O Donna (8th December 2021), palehorse (7th December 2021), Pam (13th December 2021), rgray222 (7th December 2021), Sadieblue (7th December 2021), Sérénité (7th December 2021), Sue (Ayt) (7th December 2021), toppy (7th December 2021), wondering (7th December 2021)

3. Link to Post #2
    Language
    English
    Thanks
    Thanked 9,077 times in 869 posts